The Doctor Is In

First of all, you need to know that I am a Whovian. I am not going to say that I have watched every single episode since 1963, but I will say that I have watched every single episode, Christmas special, omnibus, and mini-episode of the new series. By no means this makes me an expert, but I wanted to establish that fact before I issue the following comment.

Last night, the BBC released the news about who will take over of one of the most iconic characters on television. Jodie Whittaker will be the 13th Doctor in a saga that has been on air since the last century. If you do not know who she is, I highly recommend to check out Broadchurch, an intense TV drama about the murder of 11-year old Danny Latimer. In this series, Jodie plays Beth, Danny’s mother.

To be honest, I did not know what to expect regarding the new Doctor, but somehow I thought that it would be a male again. A few weeks ago, I remember reading an article where Steven Moffat explained why “it didn’t feel right” to have a woman as the Doctor, so imagine the surprise of the fandom last night! (Well played, Steven, well played).

After watching the 1-minute teaser posted by @bbcdoctorwho, I could not help but to look at the multiple replies and, to my awry surprise, the negative ones outnumbered the praising ones (at least at that moment). Many of them did not have anything to do with the acting skills of the actress but with the mere fact of her genre. I cannot believe that something so natural as gender is facing so many people. Are they married to the idea of the Doctor being a male? Why? Will it hurt the story? Will it make the Doctor less awesome?

I understand that Doctor Who is an icon and such icon has been a male for over 50 years, and that the companions have been mostly women, and that there has been some great tragic love stories in between, but why not a change? Does it feel like the end of an era just happened? Would the Doctor being a female would override all those stories? Absolutely no! Or is it that it will be “weird” to look at Jodie and then think about Rose and Ten, River, and Clara?

According to the story line, the Doctor regenerates into a new physical body and acquires a new personality (sort of), but he/she never forgets. Nothing is lost, ever. Just like 11th said once, “Nothing is completely forgotten. People leave traces.” Always. I believe, this will bring a whole new wave of excitement to the show. I cannot wait to see what Whittaker will bring to the role and who will stay as her companion. I cannot wait to learn what will be the plot about and what new adventures she will be up to.

We are living in a time where we need to accept change and be open to new ideas. In my humble opinion, we cannot expect that the status quo remains exactly like that. Everything evolves and regenerates (especially the Doctor) and so should we. This goes beyond the battle of sexes. This is about embracing the unknown and realizing that anything is possible, even the Doctor being a woman.

The Doctor Is In

Leave a Reply

